Total credit hours: 30.00 credit hours every 2 years.
A minimum of 15.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.
A maximum of 15.00 credit hours may be taken as repeated on-demand programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31
Reporting Deadline: February 1
Reporting Period: 2 years
In Wisconsin, active status attorneys must complete 30.00 CLE credits every 2 years to maintain good standing with the State Bar of Wisconsin.
Wisconsin attorneys must complete all 30.00 required credits by December 31 in their reporting year. Attorneys must report their credits by February 1 of the following year to avoid a late fee.
The Wisconsin CLE reporting period is 2 years and ends on December 31 in your reporting year.
There are two reporting groups:
Wisconsin attorneys must report their CLEs by filing a CLE Form 1 (available online) with the Wisconsin Board of Bar Examiners. Attorneys can do this online by using the Wisconsin Court System’s CLE Reporting System.
Wisconsin Attorneys can carry over 15.00 CLE credits to the next reporting period. Ethics and professional responsibility (EPR) credits cannot be carried over.
Attorneys in Wisconsin can complete a maximum of 15.00 CLE credits with repeated on-demand courses. Ethics and professional responsibility (EPR) credits cannot be earned from repeated on-demand courses.
Wisconsin attorneys must complete 3.00 ethics and professional responsibility (EPR) credits every reporting period. EPR credits cannot be earned from repeated on-demand CLE courses.
Attorneys can also earn up to 6.00 credits towards their WI CLE requirements in each of the following subject areas (12.00 CLE credits total):
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
Experienced attorneys in Wisconsin can fulfill their CLE requirements by:
Published legal writing, written in whole or in substantial part by the lawyer, in the form of an article, chapter, book or significant revision. Materials developed and distributed at CLE activities do not qualify.
A lawyer whose practice is principally in another jurisdiction that has mandatory CLE requirements and who is current in meeting those requirements is exempt from the 30-hour Wisconsin attendance requirement but must comply with the reporting requirement to file the CLE Form 1 on or before February 1 following the last day of the reporting period.
Newly admitted attorneys in Wisconsin are exempt from CLE reporting requirements for the remainder of the calendar year in which they are admitted to the bar.
Yes. You can carry over up to 15.00 credits that were completed during the calendar year you were admitted to practice law in Wisconsin. Ethics and professional responsibility (EPR) credits cannot be carried over.
You are exempt from CLE reporting requirements for the year in which you were admitted to practice law in Wisconsin. Your first reporting period ends on December 31 of the second full calendar year after you were admitted to the bar.
No. There are no special CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys in Wisconsin.
A newly admitted attorney is an attorney who is in the calendar year of his or her admission to the practice of law in Wisconsin.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!