Total credit hours: 24.00 credit hours every 2 years.
A minimum of 18.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.
A maximum of 6.00 credit hours may be taken as non-moderated programming without interactivity programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: June 30
Reporting Deadline: June 30
Reporting Period: 2 years
In Vermont, active status attorneys must complete 24.00 CLE credits every 2 years to maintain good standing with the Vermont Bar.
Vermont attorneys must complete and report all 24.00 required credits by June 30 in their reporting year.
The CLE reporting period in Vermont is 2 years and ends on June 30. When you are admitted to the Vermont Bar, you will be assigned to report in either even-numbered or odd-numbered years.
Vermont attorneys must report their CLEs by submitting a certification of completion through the Vermont Attorney Portal. You must report CLE credits by June 30 of your reporting year.
Vermont attorneys can carry any excess CLE credits earned in the 2nd year of their reporting period to the next reporting period. This may include ethics, attorney wellness, and diversity & inclusion credits as long as such credits were not used to meet any minimum requirements in the reporting period those credits were earned.
The term “self-study” has been replaced with "non-moderated programming without interactivity". Attorneys in Vermont can complete a maximum of 6.00 CLE credits with courses that are non-moderated programming without interactivity.
Vermont attorneys must complete 2.00 ethics credits, 1.00 attorney wellness credit, and 1.00 diversity & inclusion credit during every reporting period. Credits earned in attorney wellness and diversity & inclusion do not count towards the ethics credit requirement.
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
In addition to the mandatory continuing legal educatiion requirements that all attorneys are subject to, newly admitted attorneys in Vermont must complete 15.00 hours of specially approved CLE credits on Vermont practice and procedure. At least 9.00 of those 15.00 CLE hours must be earned by attendance at programs delivered either as moderated programming or non-moderated programming with interactivity as a key component. You must complete these requirements within 1 year of admission to the Vermont Bar.
Your first reporting period begins on the date you are admitted to practice law in Vermont and ends on June 30 of the second full year after admission.
Yes. The 15.00 CLE credits earned by completing your new attorney requirements during your first year of admission may be used toward the 24.00 total Vermont MCLE credits required for your first reporting period. Credits earned up to one year prior to admission to the bar may be used to satisfy CLE requirements.
Yes. In addition to Vermont MCLE requirements, newly admitted attorneys must attend specific courses and participate in a mentorship program. You must report compliance by submitting a certification of completion with both of these new attorney requirements through the Vermont Attorney Portal.
New Attorney CLE Credits
New attorneys must complete 15.00 hours of specially approved CLE credits on Vermont practice and procedure. At least 9.00 of those 15.00 CLE hours must be earned by attendance at programs delivered either as moderated programming or non-moderated programming with interactivity as a key component.
Courses taken to satisfy the first-year CLE requirement will count toward the MCLE requirement during your first reporting period. Those 15.00 hours must be completed no earlier than 1 year before, and no later than 1 year after, admission to the Vermont State Bar.
Newly admitted attorneys by exam or transferred UBE score must also participate in a six-month mentorship, which must include 40 hours of specific activities and at least 10 meetings with your mentor. The mentorship must be completed within 1 year of your date of admission. Mentorship hours do not satisfy any MCLE credit requirements.
Attorneys having practiced for more than 1 year are considered experienced in Vermont.
Vermont attorney can earn MCLE credit through participation in the following activities (if no financial compensation is received): teaching at an accredited CLE program or teaching a law course at a law school, university, college or community college; teaching legal programs to nonattorneys; legal writing that is published or accepted for publication; mentoring newly admitted attorneys; serving as an active judge; service as a moot court judge; serving on approved volunteer committees.
Attorneys licensed for the first time and having practiced for less than 1 year are considered newly admitted in Vermont.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!