Total credit hours: 12.00 credit hours every year.
A minimum of 4.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.
A maximum of 8.00 credit hours may be taken as pre-recorded programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: October 31
Reporting Deadline: December 15 by 4:45PM Eastern
Reporting Period: 1 year
In Virginia, active status attorneys must complete 12.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the Virginia State Bar.
Virginia attorneys must complete all 12.00 required CLE credits by October 31 of each year. Attorneys must report their credits to the Virginia MCLE Board by December 15 at 4:45 p.m. EST for the reporting year just completed.
The reporting period is 1 year and runs from November 1 through October 31 of the following year for all attorneys.
NBI will send you a Certificate of Attendance (Form 2D) and a verified certificate of completion. Follow the directions on Form 2D to certify your attendance online on the Virginia State Bar website and view your current MCLE Report. If you prefer, you can mail your completed Form 2D to the Virginia State Bar.
You can carry over 12.00 CLE credits to the next reporting year. You can carry over up to 8.00 pre-recorded credits and 2.00 ethics/professionalism credits.
Attorneys in Virginia can complete a maximum of 8.00 CLE credits with pre-recorded courses.
Virginia attorneys must complete 2.00 CLE credits in ethics/professionalism every year.
In-program attendance verification is required for downloadable courses.
Newly admitted attorneys in Virginia are exempt from the CLE requirements for the duration of the compliance year in which they are admitted.
Yes. CLE credits completed after admission to the Virginia State Bar can be applied to your first reporting period.
Your first reporting period begins on November 1 after admission to the Virginia State Bar and ends on October 31 the following year.
Yes. All newly admitted Virginia attorneys must take the Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Course within 24 months of admission to the Virginia State Bar.** This is a separate requirement than your Virginia MCLE requirement, but you can earn CLE credit from the professionalism course.
All attorneys licensed to practice law in Virginia must register with the Virginia State Bar.
**Attorneys registered with the VSB between January 1, 2019 and June 30, 2021 who were unable to attend a course to due COVID-19 cancellations have 36 months from their admission date to complete a course.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!