Total credit hours: 12.00 credit hours every year.
A minimum of 6.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.
A maximum of 6.00 credit hours may be taken as self study programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: June 30
Reporting Deadline: July 31
Reporting Period: 1 year
In Utah, active status attorneys must complete 12.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the Utah State Bar.
Utah attorneys must complete all 12.00 required credits by June 30 each year. Attorneys must report their credits by July 31.
The compliance cycle ends on June 30 for all attorneys. Your CLE credits must be reported by July 31 by filing a Certificate of Compliance with the Utah MCLE Board.
Approved CLE sponsors will report your attendance at CLE programs to the Utah MCLE Board after the program, but you must review your CLE transcript and report missing CLE credits on your Certificate of Compliance by July 31. You can review your transcript online through the attorney portal.
Utah CLE rules do not permit any CLE credits to be carried over. You must earn all 12.00 credits in the current compliance cycle.
Attorneys in Utah can complete a maximum of 6.00 CLE credits with self study courses.
Utah attorneys must complete 1.00 ethical considerations credit and 1.00 professionalism & civility credit every compliance cycle. Credits earned towards professionalism & civility do not count towards the ethical considerations credit requirement.
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
Newly admitted attorneys in Utah must complete the New Lawyer Training Program (NLTP), which provides 12.00 Utah CLE credits. The NLTP must be completed by the end of the compliance cycle that begins after the date of admission to the Utah State Bar.
Newly admitted attorneys in Utah must also complete the New Lawyer Ethics Program, which fulfills the Ethics CLE requirement and the Professionalism and Civility CLE requirement for the compliance cycle during which the newly admitted attorney completes the NLTP requirements.
Utah does not permit any CLE credits to be carried over. All 12.00 CLE credits, including specialty credits, must be earned each compliance cycle.
Your first reporting period begins on July 1 following the date you are admitted to practice law in Utah and ends on June 30 the following year.
Yes. New admittees in Utah must complete the New Lawyer Training Program by the end of the compliance cycle that begins after admission to the Utah State Bar. The NLTP provides 12.00 Utah CLE credits.
New admittees on active status who practiced for at least two years in another jurisdiction are exempt from the NLTP.
New admittees must also complete the New Lawyer Ethics Program, which satisfies your ethics and professionalism & civility requirements for the year in which you complete the program.
Attorneys who have practiced in any jurisdiction for more than 2 years are considrered experienced.
Newly Admitted Attorneys are those who have praciced for less than 2 years in any jurisdiction.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!