Total credit hours: 15.00 credit hours every year.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: Last day of the month preceding your birth month.
Reporting Deadline: Last day of the month preceding your birth month.
Reporting Period: 1 year
In Texas, active status attorneys must complete 15.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the State Bar of Texas.
Texas attorneys must complete and report all 15.00 required credits by the last day of the month immediately preceding their birth month.
The Texas CLE compliance period is 1 year. It begins on the first day of your birth month and ends the following year on the last day of the month immediately preceding your birth month.
You can report your CLE credits through the My Bar section of the State Bar of Texas website. You may also submit a coded Credit Input Form, available from the State Bar of Texas upon request.
You can carry over 15.00 CLE credits to the next compliance year. Of these, 3.00 credits (including 1.00 hour of ethics/professional responsibility) may be self study credit.
Attorneys in Texas can complete a maximum of 3.00 CLE credits (including 1.00 ethics/professional responsibility credit) with self study courses. Self study credit includes reading legal, peer-reviewed publications, or attending non-accredited CLE activities.
Attorneys must fulfill 12.00 of their 15.00 CLE hours with activities approved for Accredited CLE.
Texas attorneys must complete 3.00 ethics/professional responsibility credits every year.
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
The compliance year for experienced attorneys in Texas begins on the first day of an attorney's birth month. It ends on the last day of the month prior to the attorney's birth month.
Newly admitted attorneys in Texas have a special 24-month compliance period. New Texas attorneys are required to complete a 4.00 hour professionalism course within 12 months of admission to the State Bar of Texas.
Yes. Credits taken between your licensing date and your compliance year start date will be applied toward your initial compliance year.
Your first reporting period begins on the first day of your birth month following your admission to the State Bar of Texas and ends 24 months later on the last day of the month immediately preceding your birth month.
For example, if you are admitted in October 2022 and your birthday is April 26th, your first compliance period begins on April 1, 2023 and ends on March 31, 2025.
This 2-year compliance period is only for new attorneys. Subsequent reporting periods will be for 1 year and will begin each year on the first day of your birth month and end the next year on the last day of the month immediately preceding your birth month.
Yes. All attorneys newly licensed to practice law in Texas must take the 4.00 hour Justice James A. Baker Guide to Ethics and Professionalism in Texas course within 12 months after the date of admission to the State Bar of Texas.
You will receive 4.00 ethics/professional responsibility CLE credits for completing the professionalism course. This requirement applies to all newly licensed Texas attorneys, regardless of years of practice or admission in another jurisdiction.
Attorneys admitted to the Texas Bar for two years or less following their birthdays are considered Newly Admitted Attorneys.
The 24 month period that begins in the first birth month following the date of admission is the "Initial Compliance Year".
Attorneys must complete certification and 60 hours of CLE in their specialty area for initial certification. Attorneys must complete 100 hours for recertification every 5 years.
Approved programs are listed on the TBLS website. To comply, attorneys must complete courses in their specialization area.
Attorneys may earn TBLS CLE credit by teaching CLE courses or law school courses. Attorneys may also engage in self-study and legal research-based writing to earn TBLS CLE credit.
Attorneys must complete their TBLS CLE credits by December 31st for the year they apply for certification.
Attorneys must complete their TBLS CLE credits every 5 years on December 31st for recertification.
Attorneys may carry forward 15 crdit hours for recertification. During the intial certifcation no carry over is allowed, however any eligible courses completed within 3 years of initial certification will cout toward the 60 hour requirement.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!