Rhode Island CLE Requirements

Everything you need to know to stay in compliance


MCLE State

Overview

Required Rhode Island CLE Credits:

Total credit hours: 10.00 credit hours every year.

A minimum of 4.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.

A maximum of 6.00 credit hours may be taken as video replay programs.

Rhode Island CLE Reporting Deadlines:

Deadline to Complete CLEs: June 30

Reporting Deadline: June 30

Reporting Period: 1 year


Common Questions About Rhode Island Continuing Legal Education Rules and Regulations

General Rhode Island Continuing Legal Education Credit Requirements

How many CLE credits do you need in Rhode Island?

All active status attorneys in Rhode Island must complete 10.00 CLE credits every year.

There are a few exceptions under Section 3.2(b) of Article IV of the Rhode Island Supreme Court Rules for attorneys not engaged in the practice of law and for those over the age of 70.

When is the Rhode Island CLE reporting deadline?

Rhode Island attorneys must complete and report all 10.00 required credits by June 30 of each year.

How long is the Rhode Island CLE reporting period, and when does mine end?

The reporting period runs for 1 year from July 1 through June 30 of the following year for all Rhode Island attorneys. New attorneys are exempt from Rhode Island CLE reporting requirements for the reporting year in which they are admitted and for the next full reporting year.

How do I report my Rhode Island CLE credits?

Accredited sponsors will report your CLE attendance to the Rhode Island CLE Commission. You are responsible for reporting your compliance with Rhode Island MCLE requirements online by June 30 by using the MCLE Portal.

How many Rhode Island CLE credits can I carry over?

Rhode Island attorneys can carry over 10.00 CLE credits to the next reporting period.** Ethics credits may be carried over.

**Due to a temporary rule change, attorneys were relieved of the obligation to complete CLE credits for the 2021 reporting year. All CLE credits earned between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2021 will be applied to the 2022 MCLE reporting year. All credits submitted in the MCLE portal for the 2021 reporting year by June 30, 2021 will be automatically moved to the 2022 MCLE reporting year. Credits that were carried into the 2021 MCLE from 2019 and 2020 will automatically be applied to the 2022 MCLE reporting year.

How many CLE credits can I complete with video replay courses?

You can satisfy a maximum of 6.00 CLE credits with video replay courses.

What are the specialty credit requirements in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island attorneys must complete 2.00 CLE credits in legal ethics each year.

Is in-program attendance verification required to receive Rhode Island CLE credit?

Yes. In-program attendance verification is required.

Are you newly admitted to the Rhode Island Bar? Here’s what you need to know:

What are the Rhode Island CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

Newly admitted attorneys in Rhode Island are exempt from MCLE reporting requirements for the current and next full MCLE reporting year. However, new attorneys must complete the Rhode Island Bridge the Gap program by June 30 of the first full MCLE reporting year after admission to the Rhode Island Bar.** Attorneys admitted in another jurisdiction for at least 3 years prior to admission in Rhode Island are exempt from the Bridge the Gap requirement.

**Due to a temporary rule change, new attorneys required to file proof of their attendance at the Rhode Island Bridge the Gap course by June 30, 2020 and by June 30, 2021 now have until June 30, 2022 to file.

Can I carry over credits I completed during the time I was exempt from CLE reporting requirements?

Yes. If you complete CLE credits during the time you are exempt, you may carry over up to 10.00 credits to your first reporting period. Note that you do not earn MCLE credits for the one-day Rhode Island Bridge the Gap program.

When does my first reporting period end?

You are exempt from reporting Rhode Island CLE requirements for the duration of the reporting year in which you are admitted and for the first full CLE reporting year following your admission to the Rhode Island Bar. Your first CLE reporting period begins on the second July 1 after your admission to the bar and ends the following June 30.

Are there any special requirements for new attorneys in Rhode Island?

Yes. All new attorneys must complete the one-day Rhode Island Bridge the Gap program by June 30 of the first full MCLE reporting year after admission to the Rhode Island Bar.** The Bridge the Gap Program is sponsored by the Rhode Island Bar Association or an educational institution approved by the Rhode Island Supreme Court. Note that you do not earn MCLE credits for the Bridge the Gap Program.

Attorneys admitted in another jurisdiction for at least 3 years prior to admission to the Rhode Island Bar are exempt from the Bridge the Gap requirement.

**Due to a temporary rule change, new attorneys required to file proof of their attendance at the Rhode Island Bridge the Gap course by June 30, 2020 and by June 30, 2021 now have until June 30, 2022 to file.

Stay Up to Date

Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience, in addition to improving our internal analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, please see our Cookie Policy.