Total credit hours: 12.00 credit hours every year.
A minimum of 8.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.
A maximum of 4.00 credit hours may be taken as self study programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31
Reporting Deadline: February 1
Reporting Period: 1 year
Active status attorneys in New Mexico must complete 12.00 CLE credits every year.
New Mexico attorneys must complete all 12.00 required credits by December 31 each year. Attorneys have until February 1 of the following year to report CLE credits.
The NM CLE compliance period is 1 year and runs from January 1 through December 31 each year.
CLE providers will report your attendance to the State Bar of New Mexico by the end of February each year, the Board of Bar Commissioners of the State Bar of New Mexico will send you an annual report with your total CLE credits reported for the prior year. Notify the Board by March 1 if corrections need to be made.
You can check your transcript online on the State Bar of New Mexico website.
New Mexico attorneys can carry over 12.00 CLE credits for one compliance year. You can carry over up to 2.00 ethics/professionalism credits.
Additional excess ethics/professionalism credits will be applied as follows:
Only 4.00 hours of self study credits may be carried over to the next compliance year.
Attorneys in New Mexico can earn a maximum of 4.00 self study CLE credits.
New Mexico attorneys must complete 2.00 CLE credits in ethics/professionalism every year.
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
Newly admitted attorneys in New Mexico must enroll in the Bridge the Gap program administered by the State Bar of New Mexico. The Bridge the Gap program satisfies your CLE requirements for your first compliance year.
Your first reporting period ends on December 31 of the first full calendar year following your admission to the State Bar of New Mexico.
Yes. Newly admitted attorneys in New Mexico must complete the Bridge the Gap: Transitioning into the Profession program administered by the State Bar of New Mexico. New attorneys must enroll in the Bridge the Gap program within 30 days of admission to practice law in New Mexico. Attorneys must complete the Bridge the Gap program by December 31 of the first full calendar year following admission.
Completion of the Bridge the Gap program satisfies your New Mexico CLE requirements for your first compliance year.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!