North Carolina CLE Requirements

Everything you need to know to stay in compliance


MCLE State

Overview

Required North Carolina CLE Credits:

Total credit hours: 12.00 credit hours every year.

All credit hours may be taken as live or online programs.

North Carolina CLE Reporting Deadlines:

Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31

Reporting Deadline: December 31

Reporting Period: 1 year


Common Questions About North Carolina Continuing Legal Education Rules and Regulations

General North Carolina Continuing Legal Education Credit Requirements

How many CLE credits do you need in North Carolina?

Active status attorneys in North Carolina must complete 12.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the North Carolina State Bar.

When is the North Carolina CLE reporting deadline?

North Carolina attorneys must complete all 12.00 required credits, including any specialty credits required, by December 31 of each year (or every 3 years for substance abuse credits).

In August of each year, the North Carolina CLE Department will prepare an interim report, which is available to view through the North Carolina online attorney portal. You should review it and make any corrections by October 31.

In January of each year, the North Carolina CLE Department will send you a transcript showing all CLE credits reported for the prior year. You must review and certify your annual report by the last day of February to avoid penalties.

How long is the North Carolina CLE reporting period, and when does mine end?

The reporting period is 1 year and ends on December 31 of each year. If you were admitted to the North Carolina State Bar before July 1, you must complete all CLE requirements (may be met by the Professionalism for New Attorneys program) by December 31 of that year.

If you were admitted to the bar after July 1, you have until December 31 of the following year to complete your CLE requirements (may be met by the Professionalism for New Attorneys program).

How do I report my North Carolina CLE credits?

CLE program sponsors will report your attendance to the North Carolina CLE Department. You can view your transcript online at the North Carolina State Bar website.

How many North Carolina CLE credits can I carry over?

North Carolina attorneys can carry over 12.00 CLE credits to the next calendar year. This may include 2.00 hours of professional responsibility credit.

How many CLE credits can I complete with online courses?

There is no limit on the number of CLE credits you can earn through online courses.

What are the specialty credit requirements in North Carolina?

All North Carolina attorneys need 2.00 professional responsibility/Professionalism credits each year. In addition, attorneys need 1.00 credit in technology training each year. Every 3 years, attorneys in North Carolina need 1.00 credit in substance abuse awareness/debilitating mental conditions.

Is in-program attendance verification required to receive North Carolina CLE credit?

In-program attendance verification is required for online courses.

Are you newly admitted to the North Carolina State Bar? Here’s what you need to know:

What are the North Carolina CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

Newly admitted attorneys in North Carolina must complete a 12.00 hour Professionalism for New Attorneys Program in the year they are first required to meet NC CLE requirements (varies depending on admission date). Credits earned from the program are applied to the annual mandatory CLE requirements.

Can I carry over credits I completed during my first year of practice?

Yes. CLE credits earned after graduation from law school may be carried over to the next calendar year. If you complete CLE credits in addition to the courses required for the New Attorneys Program, you may carry over up to 12.00 credits to the next calendar year.

When does my first reporting period end?

If you were admitted to the North Carolina State Bar before July 1, you must complete all CLE requirements by December 31 of that year.

If you were admitted to the North Carolina State Bar after July 1, you have until December 31 of the next calendar year to complete your CLE requirements.

Are there any special credit requirements for new attorneys in North Carolina?

Yes. Newly admitted attorneys in North Carolina must complete the Professionalism for New Attorneys Program in the year they are first required to meet NC CLE requirements. Credit for the program is applied to the annual mandatory CLE requirements.

If you were licensed in another state for 5 or more years at the time you were admitted to the North Carolina State Bar, you are exempt from this requirement. However, you must notify the State Bar of the exemption in the first annual report form sent to you.

Stay Up to Date

Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience, in addition to improving our internal analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, please see our Cookie Policy.