Pending Rule Change: The Court advised that unless good cause is shown by 9/30/2023, the number of on-demand credits allowed will become unlimited as of 1/1/2024 for courses viewed and reported after that date.
Total credit hours: 45.00 credit hours every 3 years.
A minimum of 15.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.
A maximum of 30.00 credit hours may be taken as on-demand programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: June 30
Reporting Deadline: August 31
Reporting Period: 3 years
Active status attorneys in Minnesota must complete 45.00 CLE credits every 3 years to maintain good standing with the Minnesota State Bar.
Although the CLE reporting period runs from July 1 to June 30 every three years, attorneys may report credits until August 31 without penalty and without requesting an extension.
The reporting period is 3 years and ends on June 30. Your reporting period end date depends on your CLE category.
The 3 categories are as follows and continue every 3 years:
Upon admission to the Minnesota State Bar, attorneys are assigned to one of three categories for CLE reporting purposes. You can find your CLE reporting category by searching in MARS (the Minnesota Attorney Registration System). You can also check your CLE reporting category and credit transcript through the Minnesota CLE Board OASIS attorney portal.
You can report your CLEs electronically using the OASIS portal of the Minnesota CLE Board. There is no fee for online reporting. Or, you can mail an Affidavit of Compliance to the CLE office, along with a $10 fee.
No. The Minnesota CLE rules do not authorize attorneys to carry forward excess CLE credits.
Through December 31, 2023, attorneys in Minnesota can complete a maximum of 30.00 CLE credits with on-demand courses. A rule change is pending, and unless good cause is shown by September 30, 2023, the number of On-Demand credits will be unlimited as of January 1, 2024 for courses viewed and reported after that date.
Minnesota attorneys must complete 3.00 ethics credits and 2.00 elimination of bias credits every reporting period. Elimination of bias credits do not count towards the ethics credit requirement.
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
Newly admitted attorneys must meet the regular CLE requirements for active status attorneys (45.00 credits per reporting period). New attorneys have a full 3-year reporting period, in addition to the balance of the year they are admitted, to complete Minnesota CLE requirements.
For example, if you are admitted in October 2022 and are in Category 3, you must report 45.00 CLE credits by August 31, 2026.
Yes, if you complete approved CLE courses after admission to the Minnesota State Bar but before your official reporting period begins, you may use those credits to meet the requirements for your first CLE reporting period.
Your first reporting period ends on June 30 of the year specified in your CLE reporting category. Your first reporting period begins on July 1 following your admission to the Minnesota State Bar.
No, there are no special CLE credits required for newly admitted attorneys in Minnesota.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!