Kansas CLE Requirements

Everything you need to know to stay in compliance


MCLE State

Overview

Required Kansas CLE Credits:

Total credit hours: 12.00 credit hours every year.

All credit hours may be taken as live or prerecorded programs.

Kansas CLE Reporting Deadlines:

Deadline to Complete CLEs: June 30

Reporting Deadline: July 31

Reporting Period: 1 year


Common Questions About Kansas Continuing Legal Education Rules and Regulations

General Kansas Continuing Legal Education Credit Requirements

How many CLE credits do you need in Kansas?

Active status attorneys in Kansas must complete 12.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the Kansas State Bar.

When is the Kansas CLE reporting deadline?

Kansas attorneys must complete all 12.00 required credits by June 30 of each year. Kansas CLE credits must be reported no later than July 31.

How long is the Kansas CLE reporting period, and when does mine end?

The Kansas CLE reporting period is 1 year and ends on June 30.

How do I report my Kansas CLE credits?

CLE providers are responsible for reporting your attendance to Kansas CLE. Kansas attorneys may register and check their CLE transcript through their MyKSCLE account.

How many Kansas CLE credits can I carry over?

Kansas attorneys can carry over 10.00 CLE credits to the next compliance period. Ethics and professionalism credits carry over as general credits. You cannot carry over Kansas CLE credit hours approved for teaching, authorship, or law practice management credit.

How many CLE credits can I complete with prerecorded courses?

You may complete all 12.00 CLE credits with prerecorded programs.

What are the specialty credit requirements in Kansas?

Kansas attorneys must complete 2.00 ethics and professionalism credits every year. Kansas attorneys may also earn up to 2.00 law practice management credits each year.

Is there a limit to how many credits I can earn in one day?

Yes, under Kansas Supreme Court Rule 808(a), you can earn only 8.00 CLE credits in one day.

Is in-program attendance verification required to receive Kansas CLE credit?

Yes. In-program attendance verification is required.

Are you newly admitted to the Kansas Bar? Here’s what you need to know:

What are the Kansas CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

No. There are no special CLE requirements for new attorneys in Kansas. Newly admitted attorneys are exempt from Kansas CLE reporting requirements for the duration of the reporting period in which they are admitted to the bar. July 1 following your admission date is the start of your first reporting period.

Can I carry over credits I completed during my first year of practice?

Yes. If you earn CLE credits before your first required CLE reporting period, you may carry over up to 10.00 credits to your first compliance period.

When does my first reporting period end?

The reporting period for all Kansas attorneys ends June 30. However, you are exempt for the reporting period you are in when you’re admitted to the Kansas State Bar. So, the first reporting period that you are required to report CLE credits is June 30 of the first reporting period after you are admitted.

Are there any special credit requirements for new attorneys in Kansas?

No. Kansas attorneys do not need to report any CLE credits for the reporting period in which they are admitted to the bar, and there are no special programs required for new attorneys in Kansas.

Stay Up to Date

Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience, in addition to improving our internal analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, please see our Cookie Policy.