Iowa CLE Requirements

Everything you need to know to stay in compliance


MCLE State

Overview

Required Iowa CLE Credits:

Total credit hours: 15.00 credit hours every year.

All credit hours may be taken as moderated activity or unmoderated activity programs.

Iowa CLE Reporting Deadlines:

Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31

Reporting Deadline: March 10

Reporting Period: 1 year


Common Questions About Iowa Continuing Legal Education Rules and Regulations

General Iowa Continuing Legal Education Credit Requirements

How many CLE credits do you need in Iowa?

In Iowa, active status attorneys must complete 15.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the Iowa State Bar.

When is the Iowa CLE reporting deadline?

Iowa attorneys must complete all 15.00 required credits by December 31 each year. Attorneys must report their credits by March 10 of the following year.

How long is the Iowa CLE reporting period, and when does mine end?

The reporting period is 1 year and ends on December 31 for all attorneys.

How do I report my Iowa CLE credits?

You must complete your CLE transcript and file your annual CLE report on the Iowa Judicial Branch Office of Professional Regulation website.

How many Iowa CLE credits can I carry over?

Iowa attorneys may carry over up to 30.00 CLE credits for up to two reporting years. You must indicate on your annual report that you wish to carry credits over. Excess credits for ethics, attorney wellness, and diversity & inclusion carry over as general CLE credit only.

How many CLE credits can I complete with unmoderated activity courses?

There is no longer a limit to the number of CLE credits that you can earn with unmoderated activity courses. You may complete all 15.00 CLE credits with unmoderated activities. Unmoderated activity credits may carry over.

What are the specialty credit requirements in Iowa?

Iowa attorneys must earn 1.00 legal ethics credit every and 1.00 CLE credit in either attorney wellness or diversity and inclusion every year.

Is in-program attendance verification required to receive Iowa CLE credit?

No. In-program attendance verification is not required.

Are you newly admitted to the Iowa State Bar? Here’s what you need to know:

What are the Iowa CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

Newly admitted attorneys in Iowa are exempt from CLE reporting requirements for the year in which they are admitted to practice law in Iowa.

Can I carry over credits I completed during my year of admission?

Yes. You are not required to report CLE credits between the time you are admitted to practice law in Iowa and December 31 of your year of admission. However, if you do complete CLE courses during that time, you can receive credit for those for your first reporting period.

When does my first reporting period end?

Your first reporting period ends on December 31 of the first full calendar year following your admission to the Iowa State Bar.

Are there any special requirements for new attorneys in Iowa?

No. There are no special CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys in Iowa.

Stay Up to Date

Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience, in addition to improving our internal analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, please see our Cookie Policy.