Total credit hours: 3.00 credit hours every year.
All credit hours may be taken as live or alternative format programs.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31
Reporting Deadline: Annual attorney registration
Reporting Period: 1 year
In Hawaii, active status attorneys must complete 3.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the Hawaii Bar.
Hawaii attorneys must complete all 3.00 required credits by December 31. Compliance with the CLE requirements must be reported on your annual attorney registration the following year.
The reporting period is 1 year and ends on December 31 for all Hawaii attorneys.
Approved providers will report your attendance to the Hawaii State Board of CLE. You will receive a verified certificate of completion, which you should keep for your records. You must certify compliance with the annual CLE requirement, including ethics and professional responsibility, on your annual attorney registration the following year.
Hawaii attorneys can carry over 3.00 CLE credits for one compliance year. This may include ethics and professional responsibility credits.
There is no limit. Attorneys in Hawaii can complete all required 3.00 CLE credits with alternative format courses.
Hawaii attorneys must complete 1.00 ethics and professional responsibility credit every 3 years.
In-program attendance verification is required for the following NBI course formats: OnDemand courses and downloadable courses.
Newly admitted attorneys in Hawaii are exempt from reporting CLE requirements for the year in which they are admitted to the Hawaii State Bar. New attorneys must complete a Professionalism course by December 31 of the year following the year of admission.
Yes. If you complete CLE credits after you are admitted to practice law in Hawaii but before December 31 of that year, you may carry over up to 3.00 CLE credits to your first reporting period. You do earn CLE credits for your mandatory Professionalism course.
Your first reporting period ends on December 31 of the first full calendar year following your admission to the Hawaii State Bar.
Yes. All new attorneys must complete a Professionalism course, which is jointly sponsored by the Hawaii State Bar and the Supreme Court of Hawaii. This course must be completed by December 31 of the first full calendar year following your admission to the Hawaii State Bar.
You will earn 4.5 CLE credits for your Professionalism course.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!