Total credit hours: 45.00 credit hours every 3 years.
Beginning with the compliance period that began January 1, 2021, professional responsibility credits must include at least 2.00 credit hours in the area of equity, diversity, and inclusivity, and at least 5.00 credit hours in the areas of legal ethics or legal professionalism.
Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31
Reporting Deadline: January 31
Reporting Period: 3 years
In Colorado, active status attorneys must complete 45.00 CLE credits every 3 years to maintain good standing with the Colorado Bar. Colorado attorneys age 72 and older are exempt from CLE requirements.
Colorado attorneys must complete all 45.00 required credits by December 31 in their reporting year. Attorneys must report their credits by January 31 following their compliance period.
The reporting period is 3 years and ends on December 31 for all attorneys. Your first compliance period begins on the date of admission or certification to the Colorado Bar and ends on December 31 of the third full calendar year following the year of admission or certification to practice law in Colorado.
Colorado is a self-reporting state. You are responsible for certifying and submitting notice of your attendance to a CLE program or completion of a home study program on the Colorado Supreme Court website.
No. You may not carry over any CLE credits. Attorneys must earn all 45.00 CLE credits within the 3-year compliance period.
There is no limit placed on the number of CLE credits you can earn with home study courses. Professional responsibility credits may also be earned through home study.
No. In-program attendance verification is not required.
New attorneys are subject to the same CLE requirements as all other attorneys in Colorado.
You are subject to CLE reporting beginning on the date of admission to the Colorado Bar. Any CLE credits you earn after admission to the Colorado Bar will be credited to your first compliance period. Any CLE credits earned from taking the required Practicing with Professionalism course required for bar admission will also be credited to your first compliance period.
Your first reporting period ends on December 31 of the third full calendar year following your admission to the Colorado Bar.
All new Colorado attorneys admitted by On Motion, UBE Score Transfer, or as a Single Client, Judge Advocate, Military Spouse, or Law Professor must complete a mandatory one-day Practicing with Professionalism course within 6 months of their admission.
New Colorado attorneys admitted for the first time in Colorado will have completed this requirement before gaining admission to the Colorado Bar. CLE credits earned for the Practicing with Professionalism course will be applied to your first CLE compliance period.
Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!