Arizona CLE Requirements

Everything you need to know to stay in compliance


MCLE State

Overview

Required Arizona CLE Credits:

Total credit hours: 15.00 credit hours per year.

A minimum of 10.00 credit hours may be taken as live or interactive programs. In-program attendance verification is required for live and interactive CLE credit. If you do not complete the in-program attendance verification, self-study credit will be awarded.

A maximum of 5.00 credit hours may be taken as self-study programs.

Arizona CLE Reporting Deadlines:

Deadline to Complete CLEs: June 30

Reporting Deadline: September 15

Reporting Period: 1 year


Common Questions About Arizona Continuing Legal Education Rules and Regulations

General Arizona Continuing Legal Education Credit Requirements

How many CLE credits do you need in Arizona?

In Arizona, active status attorneys must complete 15.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the State Bar of Arizona. Active members who reached age 70 before January 1, 2009, as well as court personnel subject to the Council on Judicial Education and Training (COJET) are exempt.

When is the Arizona CLE reporting deadline?

Arizona attorneys must complete all 15.00 required credits by June 30 each year. Attorneys have until September 15 each year to report their CLE credits using the Affidavit provided by the State Bar of Arizona. Filing online is the preferred method.

How long is the Arizona CLE reporting period, and when does mine end?

The reporting period is 1 year and runs from July 1 to June 30 for all attorneys.

What are the different categories of CLE credits in Arizona, and what are the limits for each?

Arizona attorneys may satisfy their CLE requirements with credits in different categories.

The categories and annual requirements or restrictions for each is as follows:

  • Interactive: minimum 5 hours
  • Self Study: maximum 5 hours
  • Teaching: maximum 10 hours
  • Writing: maximum 10 hours
  • Law School Courses: courses taken after admission only; maximum 10 hours
  • Bar Review/Refresher Course: courses taken after admission for purposes of review or for preparing for another state’s bar exam; maximum 5 hours

How do I report my Arizona CLE hours?

Arizona attorneys must report their CLEs by filing the affidavit provided by the State Bar of Arizona.

How many Arizona CLE hours can I carry forward?

Arizona attorneys can carry forward 15.00 CLE hours to the next reporting period. This includes up to 3.00 professional responsibility/ethics hours. Certified Specialists may carry forward 5.00 hours of advanced credit, 3.00 of which can be professional responsibility/ethics credits.

How many CLE hours can I complete with self-study courses?

You can complete a maximum of 5.00 CLE hours with self-study courses.

What are the specialty credit requirements in Arizona?

Arizona attorneys must complete 3.00 professional responsibility/ethics credit hours every year.

Is in-program attendance verification required to receive Arizona CLE credit?

Yes. In-program attendance verification is required for live and interactive CLE credit, otherwise, self-study credit will be awarded.

Are you newly admitted to the State Bar of Arizona? Here’s what you need to know:

What are the Arizona CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

Attorneys admitted to the State Bar of Arizona between January 1 and June 30 are exempt for that reporting period. Attorneys admitted between July 1 and December 31 must complete 10.00 CLE hours, including 2.00 professional responsibility/ethics by June 30 of that reporting period.

Can I carry over hours I completed during my first reporting period?

Yes. if you completed CLE courses before you were required to report hours, you may carry over up to 15.00 hours to the next reporting period. Hours earned through the State Bar of Arizona (such as for your required New Admittee Professionalism Course) are automatically reported.

When does my first reporting period end?

The reporting period ends for all attorneys on June 1. However, if you were admitted in the first half of the year (January 1 through June 30), you are exempt from Arizona CLE reporting requirements for that reporting period. If you are admitted in the second half of the year (July 1 through December 31), you have a reduced requirement (10.00 hours) for your first reporting period.

Are there any special credit requirements for new attorneys in Arizona?

Yes. Newly admitted active attorneys residing in Arizona must complete a New Admittee Professionalism Course within 1 year of admission.

Stay Up to Date

Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience, in addition to improving our internal analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, please see our Cookie Policy.