Alabama CLE Requirements

Everything you need to know to stay in compliance

MCLE State


Required Alabama CLE Credits:

Total credit hours: 12.00 credit hours per year.

A minimum of 6.00 credit hours must be taken as live programs.

A maximum of 6.00 credit hours may be taken as OnDemand programs.

Alabama CLE Reporting Deadlines:

Deadline to Complete CLEs: December 31

Reporting Deadline: February 15

Reporting Period: 1 year

Common Questions About Alabama Continuing Legal Education Rules and Regulations

General Alabama Continuing Legal Education Credit Requirements

How many CLE credits do you need in Alabama?

In Alabama, active status attorneys must complete 12.00 CLE credits every year to maintain good standing with the Alabama State Bar.

When is the Alabama CLE reporting deadline?

Alabama attorneys must complete all 12.00 required credits by December 31 each year. Attorneys have until February 15 of the following year to report CLE credit earned.

How long is the Alabama CLE reporting period, and when does mine end?

The reporting period is 1 year and ends on December 31 of each year.

How do I report my Alabama CLE credits?

CLE sponsors will report your attendance to the Alabama State Bar CLE Commission. You can check your transcript on the MyDashboard page of the ASB website and make corrections as necessary.

How many Alabama CLE credits can I carry over?

Alabama attorneys can carry over 12.00 CLE credits for one year. You may carry over 1.00 ethics credit.

How many CLE credits can I complete with OnDemand courses?

You may earn up to 6.00 CLE credits from OnDemand courses.

Attorneys in Alabama must complete 6.00 CLE credits with courses approved for live credit. Live online seminars, live webinars, and fast track live webinars are considered live for purposes of CLE credit.

What are the specialty credit requirements in Alabama?

Alabama attorneys must complete 1.00 ethics or professionalism credit each year.

Is in-program attendance verification required to receive Alabama CLE credit?

No. In-program attendance verification is not required.

Additional CLE resources for Alabama attorneys

Are you newly admitted to the Alabama State Bar? Here’s what you need to know:

What are the Alabama CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys?

Newly admitted attorneys in Alabama are exempt for the remainder of the calendar year in which they are admitted. New attorneys subject to MCLE requirements must complete a 3-hour course in professionalism within 12 months of admission to the Alabama State Bar. These hours will count toward your required 12.00 CLE credits.

Can I carry over credits I completed during my year of admission?

Yes. You may carry over 12.00 total credits (including 1.0 ethics) earned during your year of admission if the credits are earned after you were admitted to the bar.

When does my first reporting period end?

Your first reporting period ends on December 31 of the first full calendar year after your admission to the Alabama State Bar.

Are there any special credit requirements for new attorneys in Alabama?

Yes. New admittees must complete a 3-hour Mandatory Professionalism Seminar within 12 months of admission to the Alabama State Bar.  Hours earned at this seminar will count toward your general 12.00-hour annual CLE requirement. The seminar will be administered by CLEAlabama on even-numbered years and Cumberland School of Law on odd-numbered years.

Who is considered a AL Newly Admitted Attorney?

An attorney in their first year of practice is considered a newly admitted attorney.

Stay Up to Date

Get the latest on new content, products, special promotions, CLE news, and more!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. We use this information in order to improve and customize your browsing experience, in addition to improving our internal analytics and metrics about our visitors. To find out more about the cookies we use, please see our Cookie Policy.